The Embassy
On Culture
On Culture - A Redemptive Arc
0:00
-31:41

On Culture - A Redemptive Arc

Susan James and I talk about redemption and all that must go with it

This episode of On Culture is an extension of the latest article there - A Redemptive Arc.

Here is an excerpt:

When I showed up for that coffee with my friend, I wasn’t thinking about redemption. Because, as far as I knew, it hadn’t arrived. As far as I knew, the redemption that has seemed to arrive, wasn’t going to. It is a thing that takes many forms and often arrives in an unexpected packages. Sometimes you don’t know it has arrived until sometime later - in the moment, you may not think of it as redemption at all. That is the thing about it - we reach what we think is the end of our rope, and redemption may show up - or we may discover that someone has given us more rope, or tied us in more securely, instead of pulling us up from the darkness. Sometimes, that is the only redemption we will receive in this part of our story.

I know that my redeemer lives,

and that in the end he will stand on the earth.

And after my skin has been destroyed,

yet in my flesh I will see God;

I myself will see him

with my own eyes—I, and not another.

How my heart yearns within me!

Job 19:25-27

I’m not sure we think of Job’s story as a redemption story. But that is our misapprehension of redemption. It is most obviously the classic case of someone dealing with suffering. But redemption comes through suffering. We are redeemed not only to something, but from something and through something.

But redemption comes through suffering. We are redeemed not only to something, but from something and through something.

Thanks to Susan James for the conversation.

Until next time - grace and peace.

0 Comments
The Embassy
On Culture
An Island of Faith, Humanity and Grace For Understanding Our Strange World. We will talk about culture - and the intersection of culture and faith.